Search the site:
 go search this site

Links in this section

RNZN social media channels

For media enquiries contact:
Mobile: +64 21 487 980

Contact us

20th anniversary of Army tragedy on Mt Ruapehu

12 August 2010

The 20th anniversary of the Mt Ruapehu tragedy where five soldiers and a naval rating lost their lives during blizzard conditions while on an Army adventure training exercise will be remembered at a formal ceremony tomorrow.

A commemorative service, commencing at 11 am, will be held at the Department Of Conservation Visitor Centre, Whakapapa. Colonel Hayward, who was the soldiers' commanding officer at the time, and family members will be speaking at the ceremony.

What: 20th Anniversary of Ruapehu disaster

Where: DOC Visitor Centre, Whakapapa

When: 11am 


All media wishing to attend please register their interest with Major Kristian Dunne, 021 478 574.

Families’ point of contact for the day is Garry Menhennet, 027 497 7787.


The six military personnel who lost their lives on the 13 August 1990 were:

Private  Brett William Barker   
Able Rating  Jeffrey Royden Boult   
Private  Stuart Keith McAlpine   
Private  Mark James Madigan   
Private  Jason Ross Menhennet   
Private  David Edward Whawhai Stewart 

Privates Brendon Bruchell, Sonny Turere and David Stewart were awarded the New Zealand Bravery Medal for their actions 20 years ago. Private Stewart died during the incident and his medal was awarded posthumously.

<< Return to the Media Release Summary
Copyright © 2018 Royal New Zealand Navy | RSS Feeds | Legal Notices | Help | Contact Us |